25 published fees; none has a market median to compare yet.
Source: its fee schedule, read Apr 19, 2026.
Comparison with U.S. medians for fees published by banks and credit unions.
A blank median means fewer than 5 publish the fee.
Each amount links to the fee schedule it was read from. Medians for Tennessee, the Atlanta district and the U.S.: Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Bring fees, filings and market context together.
Amounts from New South Credit Union’s own schedules, with a source for each figure.
per month
per year
per month
per item · upon request, 2 Free per Month
per hour
per transaction
per item
per item
per item
per item
per item
per item
per item
per year
| Fee | Amount | Basis | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Account Maintenance | |||
| Checking Monthly Service Charge | No charge | per month | None |
| Closed Membership Fee (If closed within 90 days of opening) | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Dormant Account Annual Locator Fee | $25Not compared: Annual charge, not monthly | per year | None |
| Inactive / Dormant Account | $5 | per month | None |
| Account Print-out | $3 | per item | upon request, 2 Free per Month |
| Account Research | $25Not compared: Charged per hour; comparison unavailable | per hour | None |
| Money Market and Savings Excess Activity | $5 | per transaction | None |
Overdraft & NSF | |||
| Member Privilege Courtesy Pay (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $30 | per item | None |
| Insufficient Funds Fee (NSF) | $30 | per transaction | None |
| Returned Items (Check, ACH, Debit Card, and ATM) | $30 | per transaction | None |
ATM & Card | |||
| Foreign ATM Balance Inquiry | $1 | Not stated | None |
| Additional/Replacement Card | $10 | Not stated | None |
| Foreign Currency | 1%of the transaction | Not stated | None |
Check Services | |||
| Certified Check/Cashier’s Check/Money Order | $2 | per item | None |
| Stop Payment (Check, ACH, Certified Check, Cashier’s Check, Money Order) | $10 | per item | None |
| Temporary Checks | No charge | Not stated | None |
| Check Cashing Per On-Us Check (Non-Member) | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Foreign Check Collection (plus processing fee from foreign bank) | $20 | per item | None |
| Money Order Copy or Refund | $2 | Not stated | None |
Digital & Electronic | |||
| Online Bill Payment | No charge | Not stated | None |
| Online Bill Payment Inactivity (each calendar month of no activity) | $5Not compared: Per-item charge, not monthly | per item | None |
Cash & Deposit | |||
| Cashed/Deposited Item Returned Unpaid | $30 | per item | None |
Account Services | |||
| Notary Service (CU Members Only) | No charge | Not stated | None |
| Late Charge (assessed after 30 days late) (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $10Not compared: Box drilling or key fee | Not stated | None |
| Lost Keys/Box Drilling (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $250Not compared: Box drilling or key fee | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 3x10 (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $25 | Not stated | None |
| Legal Processing (Includes levy, writ, garnishment, subpoena and requests for information from law enforcement agencies) | $75 | per item | None |
| Legal Processing | $75 | per item | None |
| Mortgage Modification or Subordination Fee (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $250 | Not stated | None |
| Account Verification Letter/Forms Completion | $20 | per item | None |
Lending Fees | |||
| Credit Card Late Payment Charge | $25 | Not stated | None |
| Loan Late Payment (Non-Mortgage) (audience not stated, treated as personal) | 5% | Not stated | None |
Retirement & IRA | |||
| IRA Below Minimum Balance – Annual | $25 | per year | None |
Other Fees | |||
| Statement Copy (upon request) | $2 | Not stated | None |
Audience not stated on the bank’s schedule; treated as personal. Fees may differ for business or commercial accounts. How audience is decided
Apr 19, 2026 data snapshot. Each amount links to its fee schedule. The U.S. comparison is the middle 50% of Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Fee change alerts
We check once a day and send one email covering every change.