21 published fees; none has a market median to compare yet.
Source: its fee schedule, read Oct 8, 2026.
Comparison with U.S. medians for fees published by banks and credit unions.
Overdraft (OD)
NSF / Returned Item
Compared at $22.50, the middle of its prices
Non-Network ATM
A blank median means fewer than 5 publish the fee.
Each amount links to the fee schedule it was read from. Medians for California, the San Francisco district and the U.S.: Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Bring fees, filings and market context together.
Amounts from Mechanics Bank’s own schedules, with a source for each figure.
per day
per transaction
per day
per item
per item
per item
| Fee | Amount | Basis | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Account Maintenance | |||
| Paper statement | $2 | Not stated | None |
Overdraft & NSF | |||
| Overdraft or Returned Item fee | $35 | Not stated | None |
| Overdraft or Returned Item fee | $35 | Not stated | None |
| Overdraft or Returned Item fee | $10 | Not stated | None |
| Continuous Overdraft Fee (checking accounts only) beginning on the 5th business day and ending on the 14th business day | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Overdraft protection transfer fee | $10Not compared: Daily charge, not per item | per day | None |
| Overdraft Transfer Fee | $10 | per transaction | None |
| Maximum daily Overdraft or Returned Item fees (per day, personal accounts) | $140 | per day | None |
ATM & Card | |||
| Bank ATM | $2.50 | Not stated | None |
| International (non-Mechanics Bank ATM) | $2.50 | Not stated | None |
| Debit card replacement | $5 | Not stated | None |
Wire Transfers | |||
| Wire transfers: Foreign outgoing (each) | $40 | per item | None |
Check Services | |||
| Cashier’s checks (each) (customers only) | $10 | per item | None |
| Online Stop Payment on a paper check | $25 | Not stated | None |
| Stop payments (all items and renewals, each) | $30 | per item | None |
| Counter checks (per sheet) | $4 | per item | None |
| Foreign check processing (Canadian checks in US dollars) | No charge | Not stated | None |
Cash & Deposit | |||
| Night depository key (set-up) | $20 | Not stated | None |
| Night depository key replacement (each) | $10 | per item | None |
Account Services | |||
| Notary Fee California and Washington (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $15 | Not stated | None |
| 10x3, 10.5x3 | $100 | Not stated | None |
| 10x4, 10.5x4 | $120 | Not stated | None |
| 10x5, 10.5x5 | $130 | Not stated | None |
| 10x8, 10x9 | $180 | Not stated | None |
| 3x5, 3x6, 2x7 | $60 | Not stated | None |
| 4x5, 4x6 | $70 | Not stated | None |
| 5x5, 5x7, 6x8 | $80 | Not stated | None |
| Personal Online Banking: 11x4 | $120 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 10x10 | $200 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 10x15 | $230 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 10x6 | $150 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 10x6 (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $150 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 11x10 | $220 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 11x3 | $100 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 11x3 (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $100 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 15x20 (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $300 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 16x10 (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $250 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 4x2 | $50 | Not stated | None |
| Safe deposit box forced entry | $150Not compared: Box drilling or key fee | Not stated | None |
| Safe deposit box key replacement (each) | $25Not compared: Box drilling or key fee | per item | None |
| Safe deposit box past due fees (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $25Not compared: Box drilling or key fee | Not stated | None |
| Safe deposit box set-up fee | $20 | Not stated | None |
| Wire with special handling (each): 4x2 | $50 | Not stated | None |
| Legal process (garnishments, levies) | $100 | Not stated | None |
| Credit rating form or verification of deposit form (each) | $20 | per item | None |
Lending Fees | |||
| Late fee | $10 | Not stated | None |
Other Fees | |||
| Overnight delivery of check payment | $18 | Not stated | None |
Audience not stated on the bank’s schedule; treated as personal. Fees may differ for business or commercial accounts. How audience is decided
per item
per item
per item
per day
per day
per item
per item
per item
per item
per item
per item
per item
| Fee | Amount | Basis | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Account Maintenance | |||
| Clerical/Research work (business account research) | $30 | per item | None |
| Paper statement | $2 | Not stated | None |
Overdraft & NSF | |||
| Overdraft or Returned Item fee (business accounts) | $35 | per item | None |
| Overdraft or Returned Item fee (business accounts) | $35 | per item | None |
| Continuous Overdraft | $5 | per item | None |
| Continuous Overdraft Fee (checking accounts only) beginning on the 5th business day and ending on the 14th business day | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Overdraft protection transfer fee | $10Not compared: Daily charge, not per item | per day | None |
| Maximum daily Overdraft or Returned Item fees (per day, business accounts) | $350 | per day | None |
ATM & Card | |||
| Bank ATM | $2.50 | Not stated | None |
| International (non-Mechanics Bank ATM) | $2.50 | Not stated | None |
| Debit card replacement | $5 | Not stated | None |
Wire Transfers | |||
| Wire transfers: Foreign outgoing (each) | $40 | per item | None |
Check Services | |||
| Cashier’s checks (each) (customers only) | $10 | per item | None |
| Check printing varies depending on check style Clerical/Research work | $30 | Not stated | None |
| Online Stop Payment on a paper check | $25 | Not stated | None |
| Stop payments (all items and renewals, each) | $30 | per item | None |
| Counter checks (per sheet) | $4 | per item | None |
| Foreign check processing (Canadian checks in US dollars) | No charge | Not stated | None |
| Copies of cashier’s checks and paid checks (each – business account) | $4 | per item | None |
Cash & Deposit | |||
| Deposited check returned notification by phone (business accounts) | $7 | Not stated | None |
| Deposited checks (and other items) returned unpaid (charged back to account – business accounts) | $12 | Not stated | None |
| Night depository key (set-up) | $20 | Not stated | None |
| Night depository key replacement (each) | $10 | per item | None |
Account Services | |||
| 10x3, 10.5x3 | $100 | Not stated | None |
| 10x4, 10.5x4 | $120 | Not stated | None |
| 10x5, 10.5x5 | $130 | Not stated | None |
| 10x8, 10x9 | $180 | Not stated | None |
| 3x5, 3x6, 2x7 | $60 | Not stated | None |
| 4x5, 4x6 | $70 | Not stated | None |
| 5x5, 5x7, 6x8 | $80 | Not stated | None |
| Business Online Banking: Safe deposit box lock change | $25Not compared: Box drilling or key fee | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 10x10 | $200 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 10x15 | $230 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 10x6 | $150 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 11x10 | $220 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 11x3 | $100 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 4x2 | $50 | Not stated | None |
| Safe deposit box forced entry | $150Not compared: Box drilling or key fee | Not stated | None |
| Safe deposit box key replacement (each) | $25Not compared: Box drilling or key fee | per item | None |
| Safe deposit box set-up fee | $20 | Not stated | None |
| Wire with special handling (each): 4x2 | $50 | Not stated | None |
| Legal process (garnishments, levies) | $100 | Not stated | None |
| Credit rating form or verification of deposit form (each) | $20 | per item | None |
Other Fees | |||
| Overnight delivery of check payment | $18 | Not stated | None |
| Copy of previous statement (each – business account) | $5 | per item | None |
Oct 8, 2026 data snapshot. Each amount links to its fee schedule. The U.S. comparison is the middle 50% of Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Fee change alerts
We check once a day and send one email covering every change.