24 published fees; none has a market median to compare yet.
Source: its fee schedule, read Apr 21, 2026.
Comparison with U.S. medians for fees published by banks and credit unions.
Monthly Maintenance
Overdraft (OD)
Non-Network ATM
A blank median means fewer than 5 publish the fee.
Each amount links to the fee schedule it was read from. Medians for California, the San Francisco district and the U.S.: Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Bring fees, filings and market context together.
Amounts from American First Federal Credit Union’s own schedules, with a source for each figure.
per item
per item
per item
per year
per item
per item
per item
| Fee | Amount | Basis | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Account Maintenance | |||
| Other accounts available with no monthly service fee | No charge | per month | None |
| Minimum balance fee (Single Srvc) | $15 | Not stated | None |
| Account Research | $20Not compared: Charged per hour; comparison unavailable | per hour | None |
| Invalid Address | $3 | per month | None |
Overdraft & NSF | |||
| Overdraft Fee/Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF) Fee | $29 | per item | None |
| Overdraft Continuous Negative Balance Fee | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Overdraft Transfer from a Line of Credit . No fee | $15 | per item | None |
| Overdraft Transfer from a Share Account | $3.50 | per item | None |
ATM & Card | |||
| ATM Networks non-AFCU, Non CO-OP Locations | $2 | per item | None |
| Replacement of Card | $10 | Not stated | None |
Wire Transfers | |||
| Wire Trans | $25 | per item | None |
Check Services | |||
| Corporate Check | $5 | per item | None |
| Stop Payment Fee (any item) | $29 | per item | None |
| Zelle Stop Payment | $29 | Not stated | None |
| Temporary Checks Printed at the Counter | $4 | per item | None |
| Non-member Cashing a Check Drawn on AFCU | $10 | per item | None |
| Foreign Item/Check Processing | $5 | per item | None |
Digital & Electronic | |||
| Bill Pay – unlimited bills | No charge | Not stated | None |
| Bill Pay & Zelle | $5.95 | per month | None |
| Bill Pay: DMV Duplicate Title or Lien Release | $25Not compared: Per-item charge, not monthly | per item | None |
| Check-By-Phone Payment | $10Not compared: Per-item charge, not monthly | per item | None |
Cash & Deposit | |||
| Returned Deposit Item/Payment Fee | $20 | per item | None |
Account Services | |||
| Early Closure of Account (within 90 days of opening) | $25 | Not stated | None |
| Notary Service (by appointment only) | $15 | Not stated | None |
| Legal Processing Fee | $60 | per item | None |
| Verification of Deposit/Account | $20 | per item | None |
Lending Fees | |||
| Credit Card Late Payment | $15 | per item | None |
Retirement & IRA | |||
| IRA Maintenance Fee | $10 | per year | None |
Vehicle & Title | |||
| DMV Duplicate Title or Lien Release | $25 | per item | None |
Gift & Prepaid Cards | |||
| Gift Card | $3 | per item | None |
Other Fees | |||
| Copy of Statement, Transaction, Check, Forms | $5 | per item | None |
Apr 21, 2026 data snapshot. Each amount links to its fee schedule. The U.S. comparison is the middle 50% of Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Fee change alerts
We check once a day and send one email covering every change.