22 published fees; none has a market median to compare yet.
Source: its fee schedule, read Oct 26, 2026.
Comparison with U.S. medians for fees published by banks and credit unions.
Monthly Maintenance
Overdraft (OD)
Compared at $35, its standard fee, the highest of its prices
NSF / Returned Item
A blank median means fewer than 5 publish the fee.
Each amount links to the fee schedule it was read from. Medians for Virginia, the Richmond district and the U.S.: Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Bring fees, filings and market context together.
Amounts from Virginia Federal Credit Union’s own schedules, with a source for each figure.
per item
per day
per day
per item
| Fee | Amount | Basis | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Account Maintenance | |||
| Monthly fee | $9.95 | per month | None |
| Account research/balancing account statement - per hour | $20Not compared: Charged per hour; comparison unavailable | per hour | None |
| Returned Mail | $10 | Not stated | None |
Overdraft & NSF | |||
| Paid NSF fee (Each additional item is) (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $35 | per item | None |
| Paid NSF fee (First item per calendar year) (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $20 | Not stated | None |
| Returned ACH debit from a savings account | $35 | Not stated | None |
| Daily fee | $5 | per day | None |
| Overdraft transfer fee (maximum 1 fee per day, even if multiple overdraft sources are accessed) | $5Not compared: Daily charge, not per item | per day | None |
ATM & Card | |||
| Each network ATM balance inquiry (includes merchant inquiry) | $1 | per item | None |
| Each network ATM withdrawal over 4 per month from a checking account | $2 | per item | None |
| Debit card or credit card replacement | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Foreign Transaction | No charge | Not stated | None |
Wire Transfers | |||
| Wire transfer: Domestic (outgoing) | $20 | Not stated | None |
| Wire transfer: International (outgoing) | $50 | Not stated | None |
Check Services | |||
| Official check from a savings or checking account (excludes QuikLine Phone Banking requests) | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Money order | $4 | Not stated | None |
| Easily order checks online or by phone | $20 | Not stated | None |
| Stop payment on check, EFT debit or automatic draft | $35 | Not stated | None |
| Counter checks (quantities of four) | $1 | Not stated | None |
| Returned check (cashed or deposited - requires collection effort) | $35 | Not stated | None |
| Returned check (cashed or deposited - requires collection effort) | $35 | Not stated | None |
| Copy of non-VACU item (per item) | $1 | per item | None |
Cash & Deposit | |||
| Cash Advance | No charge | Not stated | None |
Account Services | |||
| Price varies per size: 2x5 | $25 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 10x10 | $125 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 10x10 (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $125 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 15x10 (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $125 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 3x10 | $75 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 3x10 (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $75 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 3x5 | $50 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 3x5 (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $50 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 5x10 (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $75 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 7x10 (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $75 | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box Drilling Fee | $200Not compared: Box drilling or key fee | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box Replacement Key | $30Not compared: Box drilling or key fee | Not stated | None |
| Levy, lien & garnishment processing fee | $100 | Not stated | None |
Retirement & IRA | |||
| IRA Termination | $25 | Not stated | None |
Other Fees | |||
| Copy of or inquiry about any type of check | $1 | Not stated | None |
| Copy of statement | $2 | Not stated | None |
Audience not stated on the bank’s schedule; treated as personal. Fees may differ for business or commercial accounts. How audience is decided
Oct 26, 2026 data snapshot. Each amount links to its fee schedule. The U.S. comparison is the middle 50% of Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Fee change alerts
We check once a day and send one email covering every change.