25 published fees; none has a market median to compare yet.
Source: its fee schedule, read Nov 1, 2026.
Comparison with U.S. medians for fees published by banks and credit unions.
Monthly Maintenance
Overdraft (OD)
NSF / Returned Item
A blank median means fewer than 5 publish the fee.
Each amount links to the fee schedule it was read from. Medians for Washington DC, the Richmond district and the U.S.: Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Bring fees, filings and market context together.
Amounts from Department Of Commerce Federal Credit Union’s own schedules, with a source for each figure.
per month
per month
per hour · Account Reconciliation/Research (per hour) | $25.00
| Fee | Amount | Basis | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Account Maintenance | |||
| Monthly Maintenance Fee | No charge | per month | None |
| Account Closed within Six Months | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Escheatable Account | $75 | Not stated | None |
| Monthly Inactive Account after 1 year | $5 | per month | None |
| Account Reconciliation/Research (per hour) | $25Not compared: Charged per hour; comparison unavailable | per hour | Account Reconciliation/Research (per hour) | $25.00 |
| Returned Mail for Invalid Address (> 1 piece) | $10 | Not stated | None |
Overdraft & NSF | |||
| NSF/Overdraft/Unavailable/Check Guard | $35 | per item | None |
| EFT Returned Item | $35 | Not stated | None |
ATM & Card | |||
| ATM Withdrawal at Non-DOCFCU ATM | No charge | Not stated | None |
| Card Replacement | $10 | Not stated | None |
| Rush Card Fee | $25 | per item | None |
Wire Transfers | |||
| Wire Transfer (Domestic) | $25 | Not stated | None |
| Wire Transfer (International) | $50 | Not stated | None |
Check Services | |||
| Cashiers Check | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Certified Check | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Information Retrieval for Money Order | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Money Order | $2 | Not stated | None |
| Stop Payment | $35 | Not stated | None |
| Temporary Check Fee (8 checks) | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Check Cashing Fee (Share Account) | $3 | Not stated | None |
| Collection Items (Domestic) | $13.50 | Not stated | None |
| Collection Items (Foreign) | $26 | Not stated | None |
| Check Copy | $1 | Not stated | None |
| Photocopy of Money Order | $5 | Not stated | None |
Cash & Deposit | |||
| Cash Advance (non DOCFCU card) 3% | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Returned Deposited Item | $35 | Not stated | None |
Account Services | |||
| Notary Service (Non Members) | $2 | Not stated | None |
| Levy/Garnishment/Legal Action | $50 | Not stated | None |
Lending Fees | |||
| VISA Late Payment | $25 | Not stated | None |
Retirement & IRA | |||
| IRA Trustee Transfer/Termination | $40 | Not stated | None |
Other Fees | |||
| Statement Copy (monthly) | $5Not compared: Monthly charge, not per item | per month | None |
| Lien Satisfaction Letter | $25 | Not stated | None |
| Skip a Payment Fee (per loan) | $30 | per item | None |
Nov 1, 2026 data snapshot. Each amount links to its fee schedule. The U.S. comparison is the middle 50% of Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Fee change alerts
We check once a day and send one email covering every change.