14 published fees; none has a market median to compare yet.
Source: its fee schedule, read Oct 23, 2026.
Comparison with U.S. medians for fees published by banks and credit unions.
Monthly Maintenance
Free Kasasa Cash Back Checking
NSF / Returned Item
Wire Transfer (Domestic Out)
A blank median means fewer than 5 publish the fee.
Each amount links to the fee schedule it was read from. Medians for Montana, the Minneapolis district and the U.S.: Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Bring fees, filings and market context together.
Amounts from Southwest Montana Community Federal Credit Union’s own schedules, with a source for each figure.
| Fee | Amount | Basis | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Account Maintenance | |||
| Monthly service fee | $3 | per month | None |
| Early Closure Fee | $25 | Not stated | None |
| Dormant Account | $10Not compared: Annual charge, not monthly | per year | None |
| Account Research & Reconcilement | $25Not compared: Charged per hour; comparison unavailable | per hour | None |
Overdraft & NSF | |||
| NSF Charge | $25 | Not stated | None |
Wire Transfers | |||
| Outgoing Wire Transfer | $20 | Not stated | None |
| Incoming Wire Transfer | $10 | Not stated | None |
Check Services | |||
| Cashier's Checks | $1 | per item | None |
| Money Orders | $1 | per item | None |
| Stop Payment | $25 | Not stated | None |
| Counter Checks | $1Not compared: Charged per page; comparison unavailable | per page | None |
| Copy of Draft | $2 | per item | None |
Digital & Electronic | |||
| ACH Return Fee | $25 | Not stated | None |
| Bill Pay Fee (only after 3 mnths of inactivity) | $5 | per month | None |
Cash & Deposit | |||
| Night Depository, Notary Service, & U.S. Savings Bonds | No charge | Not stated | None |
Account Services | |||
| Safe Deposit Box 10x10 | $65 | per year | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 3x10 | $30 | per year | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 3x5 | $20 | per year | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 5x10 | $40 | per year | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 5x5 | $25 | per year | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 7x10 | $50 | per year | None |
| Garnishment or Levy | $35 | Not stated | None |
Oct 23, 2026 data snapshot. Each amount links to its fee schedule. The U.S. comparison is the middle 50% of Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Fee change alerts
We check once a day and send one email covering every change.