14 published fees; none has a market median to compare yet.
Source: its fee schedule, read Nov 3, 2026.
Comparison with U.S. medians for fees published by banks and credit unions.
NSF / Returned Item
Non-Network ATM
Compared at $2.50, the middle of its prices
Stop Payment
A blank median means fewer than 5 publish the fee.
Each amount links to the fee schedule it was read from. Medians for Minnesota, the Minneapolis district and the U.S.: Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Bring fees, filings and market context together.
Amounts from Merchants Bank, National Association’s own schedules, with a source for each figure.
| Fee | Amount | Basis | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Account Maintenance | |||
| New account closed within 180 days | $30 | Not stated | None |
| Dormant account fee, per month | $7 | per month | None |
| Research fee, per hour | $50Not compared: Charged per hour; comparison unavailable | per hour | None |
Overdraft & NSF | |||
| Insufficient funds/Nonsufficient | $30 | Not stated | None |
| Automatic Overdraft Protection from Checking or Savings, per transfer | $5 | per item | None |
ATM & Card | |||
| Automated Teller Machine (ATM), Foreign usage: withdrawal (ATM fee) | $2.50 | Not stated | None |
| Non-Network ATM | $3 | Not stated | None |
| Transfer (ATM transfer) | $1 | Not stated | None |
Wire Transfers | |||
| Wire transfer: - Incoming | $10 | Not stated | None |
Check Services | |||
| Cashier’s check, customers only | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Certified check | $20 | Not stated | None |
| Stop payment | $30 | Not stated | None |
| Counter check | $0.50 | Not stated | None |
| Collection item | $30 | Not stated | None |
| Check Images (Free Checking) | $2Not compared: Monthly charge, not per item | per month | None |
Cash & Deposit | |||
| Deposited item returned | $10 | Not stated | None |
Account Services | |||
| Notary service, non-customer | $1 | Not stated | None |
| Safe deposit box drilling | $200Not compared: Box drilling or key fee | Not stated | None |
| Levy/garnishment | $100 | Not stated | None |
Gift & Prepaid Cards | |||
| Visa Gift Card | $3.50 | Not stated | None |
Nov 3, 2026 data snapshot. Each amount links to its fee schedule. The U.S. comparison is the middle 50% of Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Fee change alerts
We check once a day and send one email covering every change.