22 published fees; none has a market median to compare yet.
Source: its fee schedule, read Oct 5, 2026.
Comparison with U.S. medians for fees published by banks and credit unions.
Overdraft (OD)
NSF / Returned Item
Wire Transfer (Domestic Out)
A blank median means fewer than 5 publish the fee.
Each amount links to the fee schedule it was read from. Medians for Washington DC, the Richmond district and the U.S.: Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Bring fees, filings and market context together.
Amounts from Library Of Congress Federal Credit Union’s own schedules, with a source for each figure.
per month
| Fee | Amount | Basis | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Account Maintenance | |||
| Account closing within 6 months of opening | $15 | Not stated | None |
| Dormant Account | $5 | per item | None |
| Dormant Account | $10Not compared: CD/IRA fee | Not stated | None |
| Escheatment Processing | $50 | Not stated | None |
| Account Research (hourly) | $20Not compared: Charged per hour; comparison unavailable | per hour | None |
| Paper Statement Fee | $1 | Not stated | None |
| Return Mail Fee | $5 | Not stated | None |
Overdraft & NSF | |||
| Member Privilege fee | $28 | Not stated | None |
| Overdraft (OD) (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $28 | per item | None |
| NSF / Returned Item (audience not stated, treated as personal) | $28 | per item | None |
| NSF fee | $28 | Not stated | None |
Wire Transfers | |||
| WIRE TRANSFER: Outgoing Domestic | $20 | Not stated | None |
Check Services | |||
| Money Orders | $2 | Not stated | None |
| Individual Stop Payments | $28 | Not stated | None |
| Range of Stop Payments | $28 | Not stated | None |
| Stop Payment - CU Check | $28 | Not stated | None |
| Foreign Check Collections (US & Non-US Dollars) | $25 | Not stated | None |
| Foreign Check Collections (US & Non-US Dollars) Over | $75 | Not stated | None |
| Check Copies, archived | $5 | Not stated | None |
Digital & Electronic | |||
| Online Bill Pay Monthly, non-use fee | $3.95 | per month | None |
Cash & Deposit | |||
| Deposit Item Returned | $30 | Not stated | None |
Account Services | |||
| Notary Public (non-member) | $2 | Not stated | None |
| Legal Processing - Tax Levy & Garnishment | $75 | Not stated | None |
| Subordination Agreement | $200 | Not stated | None |
| Account Verification | $5 | Not stated | None |
Lending Fees | |||
| Late Payment | $25 | Not stated | None |
Retirement & IRA | |||
| IRA Transfer/Termination to Other Institutions | $30 | Not stated | None |
Gift & Prepaid Cards | |||
| VISA Gift Cards In-Branch ($25-$1,000) | $2.95 | Not stated | None |
| VISA Gift Cards Online at lcfcu.org ($25-$250) | $5.95 | Not stated | None |
| VISA Gift Cards Online at lcfcu.org ($251-$500) | $7.95 | Not stated | None |
Other Fees | |||
| Duplicate Statements, archived | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Skip-a-Payment | $25 | Not stated | None |
Audience not stated on the bank’s schedule; treated as personal. Fees may differ for business or commercial accounts. How audience is decided
Oct 5, 2026 data snapshot. Each amount links to its fee schedule. The U.S. comparison is the middle 50% of Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Fee change alerts
We check once a day and send one email covering every change.