12 published fees; none has a market median to compare yet.
Source: its fee schedule, read Oct 12, 2026.
Comparison with U.S. medians for fees published by banks and credit unions.
Monthly Maintenance
Overdraft (OD)
NSF / Returned Item
A blank median means fewer than 5 publish the fee.
Each amount links to the fee schedule it was read from. Medians for Iowa, the Chicago district and the U.S.: Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Bring fees, filings and market context together.
Amounts from Farmers and Merchants State Bank’s own schedules, with a source for each figure.
per year
per year
per year
per year
per year
| Fee | Amount | Basis | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Account Maintenance | |||
| Maintenance Fee | $5 | per month | None |
| Dormant Fee | $5 | per month | None |
| Account Balancing Assistance | $25Not compared: Charged per hour; comparison unavailable | per hour | None |
| Account Research (1hr. min) | $25Not compared: Charged per hour; comparison unavailable | per hour | None |
Overdraft & NSF | |||
| Paid Overdraft Fee (each debit or check paid) | $30 | per item | None |
| Returned Item Fee (Per Item, Per Presentment) as NSF | $30 | per item | None |
ATM & Card | |||
| Replace ATM/Debit Card | $10 | Not stated | None |
Check Services | |||
| Cashiers Check | $10 | Not stated | None |
| Personal Money Order | $5 | Not stated | None |
| Non-Customer Check Cashing | $10 | Not stated | None |
Account Services | |||
| Notary Service (Non-Customer) | $10 | Not stated | None |
| Drilling Lock on Safe Deposit Box Cost + | $100Not compared: Box drilling or key fee | Not stated | None |
| Duplicate Safe Deposit Box Key | $20Not compared: Box drilling or key fee | Not stated | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 10" x 10" | $60 | per year | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 3" x 10" | $40 | per year | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 3" x 5" | $30 | per year | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 5" x 10" | $45 | per year | None |
| Safe Deposit Box 5" x 5" | $35 | per year | None |
| Garnishments/ Levies | $50 | Not stated | None |
Retirement & IRA | |||
| IRA Elective Distribution Fee | $25 | Not stated | None |
| IRA External Transfer Fee | $50 | per item | None |
Oct 12, 2026 data snapshot. Each amount links to its fee schedule. The U.S. comparison is the middle 50% of Bank Fee Index published fees, shown where at least 5 institutions publish the fee.
Fee change alerts
We check once a day and send one email covering every change.